MCSD: Windows Metro Style Apps – but which one?


While I was at the Worldwide Partner Conference last week in Toronto I had dinner with an old friend and colleague Tim Sneath. Tim has been instrumental in a lot of the great evangelism around XAML and Windows 8 but now has a new challenge, heading up Microsoft Learning.

We got onto the subject of Microsoft Certifications and their importance (or not) when companies are hiring developers – a great little discussion which a week on has popped back into my mind as I will be interviewing candidates this month for a vacancy in my team. Plenty of the candidates who apply for technical roles in Microsoft do indeed have certifications. I on the other hand (as interviewer) do not. Hmmm. (Well, actually I do – but I seem to recall the last couple I did were on SQL Server 2000 and that is a long time back.)

However I am moving more back to development in my new role around Windows 8 and potentially could do with setting myself a “little dev challenge”.

Right now I’m thinking the “little dev challenge” should be passing MCSD: Windows Metro Style Apps.

Hmmm…. now which one to go for?

image

image

And more importantly… by when… 🙂

Leave a Reply

