Fix to blank LightSwitch app bug with Visual Studio 2012


I needed to populate a database I’m designing with some test data and thought to myself “LightSwitch will be ideal to knock out some screens”.

One hour later I got a LightSwitch screen to actually display! Until then all I got when running it in Desktop mode (the default) was a blank window hosting Silverlight (right click to verify)

After lots of searching and playing around I found the answer near the end of this very long thread

  1. Navigate to the Client.Properties folder inside your project
  2. Open OutofBrowserSettings.xml
  3. Change <SecuritySettings ElevatedPermissions=”Required” /> to <SecuritySettings ElevatedPermissions=”NotRequired” />
  4. And you may also want to then make the file readonly

 Now, when this happens again I will be able to find my own post to resolve it! Enjoy!

P.S. This isn’t specific to Visual Studio 2012 … but the post title corresponds to how I was searching 🙂

3 thoughts on “Fix to blank LightSwitch app bug with Visual Studio 2012

  1. Hey –

    Your last post [Fix to blank LightSwitch app bug with Visual Studio 2012] was freaking awesome. I have gone ahead and added your stuff to my Feedly account. Please keep me updated if you post anywhere else.

    Keep rocking –

    Jon

  2. Hi Eric,

    I’ve got the same blank screen with lightswitch desktop app on VS 2013, I’ve tried your fix but I still get blank screen. Any Idea for a fix that would work on VS 2013?

    Christian

Leave a Reply

